100 Dates…..#75 Luck of the Irish

Guy: The Irishman

Date: Metropole 21 C

We had such a great time on the last date that we got together as quick as we could before he left for Ireland. He had never been to Metropole before and he was excited to be as adventurous as I typically am when it comes to food. After being gassed up by the waitress we decided to try the 7-hour egg, meat board and warm ricotta with honey. I couldn’t make up my mind on what I wanted to eat so he told me to get it all. I made the joke, “Are you trying to thicken me up so no one else wants me?” He eyed me seductively saying, “You can get bigger” half smiling at me. (Clutches Pearls) I resisted the urge to get everything that I knew was delicious and settled on the board, egg, and ricotta. We moaned and oohed and ahhed over the art that was on the plate. Each flavor was filled with smokiness, depth, it was a perfect addition to the conversation. We were nearly stuffed after apps, so the waitress gave us a few more moments to decide and we used them to chat. He insisted that I enjoy a few glasses of wine. (He doesn’t drink – a precaution from earlier life challenges) That lubricated the conversation even better, we laughed and enjoyed our time together, not to mention having the best seat in the house, the corner booth near the large windows overlooking the entire restaurant. The tables were empty next to us, but we often were eyed suspiciously by the other patrons, “Who are yall?” is what their gazes seemed to say. We looked expensive and were not really paying attention to anyone else. He slid his hand over mine as we spoke, scooting closer to me and kissing my cheek.

After dinner, we walked arm in arm under the umbrella to my car where he laid on the most unexpected smooch. It was my first lip lock with an Irishman, perfectly timed in the rain, the busy sounds of downtown swirling around us. He gripped me tightly and passionately, even as I type this it made me blush. Part of me knew that we’d never be able to top this moment, knowing I may never see him again, I made my peace with that with the last kiss. We said our goodbyes and after he returned from Ireland we settled on being FB pals, I see a like from him every now and then-returning the favor when he crosses my timeline.

#WhatAlishiaLeeThinks2017

Leave a comment