100 Dates……3 Years and Counting

Now that 100 Dates is officially over, here are my biggest take aways.

#1 Never say Never – I remember telling myself the things i’d never do, never get on a social dating site, never tell my business about dating to anyone aside from my squad, never date someone without kids, never this, never that. I realized how freeing saying YES to myself was. Yes Alishia- go do that, Yes Alishia, be open.

#2 Stick to my standards– Saying never has nothing to do with defining your bottom line DYBL    sticking to your standards will only protect your time and emotions. I was able to save so much time, attention, and heart ache, by sticking to the realistic standards I set for myself.

#3 Understanding I am an example– My daughter’s surprised me through the years, reminding me subtly that they were watching my every move, especially as it related to dating. My teenager knew immediately if a guy was above or below my standards by how I described his actions.  I am setting a blueprint for what she should and shouldn’t accept.

#4 Tell the Story! – I knew three years ago that this would be a challenge to tell. I tend to be a private person, but knew I would have to step out of my comfort zone and be brave in telling my personal story. Hopefully it’ll help someone else along the way. (Or at least be entertaining)

#5 Love me first- This is the most important lesson of all. I learned so much about who I am as a person and what I believe in. Taking time for self care was imperative in  the process along with having a solid group of friends to bounce ideas and experiences off of.

I started this process full of feelings of loss and inadequacy and ended on top of the world. Thank you all for being a part of 100 dates.

#WhatAlishiaLeeThinks

 

 

 

 

Overall I am happy with myself and with the man that I am dating. I didn’t know if i’d end up single or not at the end of this journey when I started and I still don’t. I’ve learned a ton about who I am as a mother, woman, and lover.

Thank you

Leave a comment